An atheist in church, perhaps

About 3 years ago when I started digging deeper into the veracity of religion, I thought it might be a fun idea to visit a different local church every Sunday morning. I was raised in the Church of Christ and had only very limited interactions with other denominations, so I was curious. Ultimately, though, the desire to sleep in won out; church attendance would be a much more interesting experiment if it weren’t so early on my day off!

Then about a year and 1/2 ago I read Hemant Meheta‘s “I Sold My Soul On eBay” -an interesting read, wherein Hemant auctions off his Sunday mornings to the highest bidder, then does a review on the churches he visited, giving them advice on how to be more appealing to outsiders. It re-kindled my interest in doing a survey of my local churches, but at the time I had to be at work by 11 am on Sundays and I wasn’t about to get up extra early for the early services.

Recently on Twitter, JT Eberhard has been encouraging atheists to claim the #ChurchTweet hashtag, and either tweet about their reactions to a church service or about what they’re doing instead of church. It’s been fun to see what people say, and I totally made it into the Best of #ChurchTweet for the week.  (I’m probably more proud of that than I should be….)  But anyway, I find this again rousing my interest in checking out the churches.

I’m already making excuses not to do it. Sleep is important. I’m not a morning person. This next coming Sunday falls on Halloween weekend, and I promise you I will have had too much fun Saturday night to even think about attending church Sunday morning. I went to church at least 3 times a week for 18 years, so what more can they really have to say to me that I haven’t already heard? There’s nothing new under the sun, right?

But that’s the thing. As previously stated, I have very limited experience with other denominations, but the few I have experienced have been very different from CofC. I went to a Baptist church once (freewill, I think, but don’t quote me on that) where my overall impressions were, “Holy crap! A piano!” and, “Since when was there a Christian flag, and why are these people pledging allegiance to it?” I have also been to a Methodist church two or three times which was an even bigger culture shock to a former CofC-er like me. Instrumental music, women preachers, celebrating Christmas as a religious holiday, clapping in church?!?! What is this?!?!

So, I think it would be interesting to go check out some churches and see how they look viewed through the filters of atheism and former CofC-ism. It’s also important not to cut myself off from opposing views. I claim to have an open mind, willing to review the evidence for a god and accept one if there is proof, so I shouldn’t completely shut out the religious claims. I know we have a First Assembly of God, a few Methodists, Baptists, a Mormon church, and at least 2 Churches of Christ- one on each end of the conservative/liberal scale. Google tells me we have a Seventh Day Adventist church, a Jewish synagogue,  Presbyterians, Episcopalians, something called “Crusade Church”, Jehovah’s Witnesses… this could keep me busy for a good long while.

At the least, it’ll be good blog material, right?

About Essential Everyday Pineapple

Crazy cat lady extraordinaire, liberal, atheist, feminist, vegetarian, engineering student with an art degree. Essential Everyday Pineapple is just a phrase from a random word generator that had a nice ring to it. What? Blog names are tough.
This entry was posted in atheism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

