Thankful

No atheist in church post this week. I was at Skepticon this past weekend which is approximately a million billion times more awesome than church! This is my second year to attend the totally free atheist/skeptic conference in Springfield Missouri, and I highly recommend it to anyone even slightly interested. Every single talk was bad ass, with topics ranging from atheism, to logic, math, genetics, the paranormal, mental illness, Mormons, Vulcans, and sex! I thoroughly enjoyed the speakers, ate some delicious food at the local restaurants,  learned a lot, drank a lot, and met some really cool people- a surprising number of whom were from Arkansas that I can’t wait to be more involved with. It was hugely affirming to spend the weekend with roughly 1100 people who share my views.

Videos of previous years’ Skepticon talks are up on YouTube, posted by HamboneProductions, and the videos of this year’s talks should be up soon. You need to check them out, because they are excellent talks!

A video already posted from this year is the wonderful “Thanks for Skepticon” by FoFDallas:

I love this video! Also at the conference this weekend, Brother Sam Singleton delivered a rousing sermon on the topic of thankfulness- how we should give our thanks to the people in our lives who have a real impact on us, instead of a god who isn’t there. So, with those two inspirations in mind, and since Thanksgiving is right around the corner, I would like to write about what I am thankful for.

I am thankful for my family. For my parents who birthed me, raised me and tried their best to guide me even if I didn’t always want to be guided. For my sister who is wonderfully understanding of my life’s little crises and is always there to share her experience and advice without judging me (too much) for my choices.

I am thankful for my boyfriend Ben who has been such an important influence and support as I’ve been transitioning from college to real life. For the adventures we’ve already been on, and the prospect of more to come.  For Ben’s family as well, who has accepted me into their family and are truly wonderful, caring people.

I am thankful for my friends. For the Secular Student Alliance and the ladies at knit night who are the core of my social life, and for all of the new friends I made this weekend.

I am thankful for my apartment which kept me dry in last night’s down pour. For my landlord who charges affordable rent and changes the light bulbs in a prompt manner when they burn out. For my cat who keeps me company in said apartment, even if she is a little crazy sometimes.

I am thankful for my job. Even though it frustrates me at times, I’m grateful to be able to pay the bills in this economy. I’m thankful that they provide tuition reimbursement and are helping pay for me to go back to school (here I need to insert more thanks to Ben and my family for encouraging me to go back!) For my co-workers who are fun people that tolerate me 40 hrs a week, and who seem to genuinely care about me.

I am thankful for the maths and sciences, and the people who understand those things waaay better than I ever will so that we can all understand more about this awesome world we live in. I’m thankful for art and music that make this world a more beautiful place. I’m thankful for wine (especially Razorback Red) and Long Island ice teas. Piano Bars. Hummus and pita chips. Dill pickles. The internet and cat videos. NPR. The first amendment. Books and movies. Anxiety meds and birth control. Annie’s organic mac-n-cheese. Yarn. Oxygen. 3 day weekends.

I could go on listing all the little things I’m happy to have in my life, but you get the idea. I’m certainly feeling all warm and fuzzy inside now; it’s nice to sit down and think about all the good things in life.

 

About Essential Everyday Pineapple

Crazy cat lady extraordinaire, liberal, atheist, feminist, vegetarian, engineering student with an art degree. Essential Everyday Pineapple is just a phrase from a random word generator that had a nice ring to it. What? Blog names are tough.
This entry was posted in atheism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

