And I didn’t cry or anything!

I went to the local clinic for my allergy shot today after work and while I was at the nurse’s station getting the injection, there was this middle aged, overweight, balding guy just standing in the doorway watching, presumably waiting his turn. Why he didn’t wait out in the waiting area like everyone else, I don’t know.

Right as the nurse finishes with my shot, I think I hear the guy say, “You’re a big girl.” Is he talking to me? “Oh, yes, you’re a big girl.” Okay, he really did say that, but I still hadn’t quite figured out what was happening at this point. I needed a refill on my allergy extract, and so I moved to stand by the counter and wait while the nurse called in the refill. Now the guy was standing right behind me when he said “You didn’t even cry or anything!” So, at this point I was positive that he was talking to me, and I was creeped the fuck out. Seriously, what was this guy hoping to accomplish by saying those things? I challenge you to come up with an excuse for his behavior that doesn’t involve me being part of a sexual fantasy. Thankfully I was in a well-lit nurses station in the middle of the afternoon with 3 nurses present, so I wasn’t too worried about what this guy might try to do. I decided to ignore him (the nurses, it seemed, were doing so as well), finish my business and get the hell out of there.

The more I think about it, the grosser it makes me feel, and I wish I hadn’t just ignored him. What the hell is wrong with our society that this man thinks he has the right to make creepy comments that make women feel uncomfortable, and no one says anything to him? I wish I had said something to the effect of “Excuse me? That is inappropriate. I am an adult and you do not know me. Stop.” You know, stand up for myself and hopefully get the message across that this is something he shouldn’t repeat in the future.

Dear men who read this, please file this away under “things not to say to women you don’t know.”  Thank you.

 

About Essential Everyday Pineapple

Crazy cat lady extraordinaire, liberal, atheist, feminist, vegetarian, engineering student with an art degree. Essential Everyday Pineapple is just a phrase from a random word generator that had a nice ring to it. What? Blog names are tough.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

