“Adventures in Yellow” -or- “New Year’s Resolution”

My apologies for my long absence from the blog. The holidays and general laziness are at fault.

As part of my Halloween costume last year, I purchased a pair of bright yellow leggings and I have to admit that I kinda love them. They’re comfortable, warm and cheery! I was saddened at the thought of leaving them forever in my closet, but I couldn’t quite bring myself to wear them as part of a regular-everyday outfit. Drawing lots of attention to myself really isn’t my thing.

Then this past weekend I mustered up the courage to wear them and it was surprisingly empowering. I paired them with a black cotton dress and jean jacket and did get a few interesting looks from people in public, but really, why should I care? Something I’ve come to realize lately is that I spend too much time worrying about what others think of me, so it was quite freeing to go out and about in bright yellow and think to myself “Screw them if those random strangers don’t like what I’m wearing! I do!”

I find myself attracted to some quirkier fashion trends, such as fascinators. Seriously, what’s not to love about that piece to the left? Just like the yellow leggings before, I’m not sure I could leave the house wearing it, but I love it none-the-less.

And so, this adventure in yellow leggings leads me to my New Year’s resolution: embrace more of my personal style, and try to worry less about what others think in general.

About Essential Everyday Pineapple

Crazy cat lady extraordinaire, liberal, atheist, feminist, vegetarian, engineering student with an art degree. Essential Everyday Pineapple is just a phrase from a random word generator that had a nice ring to it. What? Blog names are tough.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

