Wherein I rant about things

Just a forewarning: I have a serious case of hangry (angry because I’m hungry). Dinner’s on the stove, but I figured I’d type up a post while the cream of zucchini soup is cooking. So, if you can’t handle a grumpy, hungry person writing about things that make her grumpy, you might want to click away while you still can.

Rant #1: Why do people make major life decisions based on the fact that society thinks said decision is “the next step”? Just because a couple has been dating for x number of years does not automatically mean they should get married. Just because a couple is married doesn’t mean they should now proceed to have children. Unless, of course, if that’s what they want to do. But those kinds of decisions need to be made because that’s what the people involved actually want, not because it’s ‘expected’ or they feel pressured!

Rant #2: “Real men only do x!” or “Real men don’t do y!” I don’t remember the exact quote, but I saw something the other day that said something to the effect of, “men shouldn’t rely on other people; real men can handle things themselves.” Really? The idea that men who have feelings and/or need support from others aren’t “real” men is just plain harmful and stupid. It can only serve to stop those who need help from seeking it, or lead to bullying of those men who aren’t deemed “manly” enough and what good is any of that? Gender stereotypes suck, yo.

And so, I’m expanding my New Year’s resolution, and encourage you all to do the same: quit worrying about how other people might judge you and make decisions that are fulfilling to you. Wear yellow leggings. Date for 20 years without getting married, then live in separate houses. Be a stay at home dad or a working mother or never have children at all. And course, if you want to date for a year, then get married and start having children the “traditional” way, go for it! I’m advocating for well thought out and responsible decisions, whatever that may be for each individual. Do what works for you, let other people worry about what works for them!

Now to end on a funny note: The zucchini soup is finished and delicious- recipe here. However, it involved putting all the (hot) ingredients into the blender to puree them into a smooth soup. My blender decided to go all exorcist on me and spew soup out the top, just like in the cartoons. It’ll be a while before I get all the zucchini off my cabinets and out of my sweater….

About Essential Everyday Pineapple

Crazy cat lady extraordinaire, liberal, atheist, feminist, vegetarian, engineering student with an art degree. Essential Everyday Pineapple is just a phrase from a random word generator that had a nice ring to it. What? Blog names are tough.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wherein I rant about things

  1. Kristina M. says:

    On the whole “next step” part: I say do whatever you want. I’ve heard of people dating for years only to split up after they get married. If someone’s more traditional, that’s fine, but not everyone is. For example, I was telling my mom a few days ago that if I ever get married, I’m keeping my last name. It’s mine, why should I get rid of it? Also, I don’t even know if I want kids, and if I do, I won’t have them until my 30s. I have too much stuff I want to do first.

    I think the whole getting married young is a more prevalent idea in the South. Maybe people are expected to die earlier from all the fried foods…

Leave a Reply

