Home Sweet Church

Who has two thumbs, cleaned her kitchen, did laundry, studied for a Calculus exam, and is writing a blog post all in one evening? This girl! *bows* Sadly, this is the most productive I’ve been in a long time, but hopefully it’s the beginning of a positive trend.

A while back, I stumbled upon this beautiful old church in England that had been converted into a home and I was immediately smitten. Seriously, click this link and check out the whole thing. Stained glass windows in the bedroom and bathroom? Yes, please! Bright, open spaces with vaulted ceilings? Where do I sign? I’m not a huge fan of the cemetery in the back yard, but hey, you win some,  you lose some.

If you have some spare time on your hands, Google “church converted into a home” and click through the links. There have been quite a few old churches turned into single family homes, and most are really stunning.

Apart from the beauty of these homes, I have to admit I enjoy them with a touch of irreverence in my heart. I appreciate that churches can be beautiful pieces of architecture, but I think homes are more useful so I absolutely love the idea of taking a church and re-purposing it. And, I can’t help but chuckle at the idea of putting the master bed where the altar used to be.

Last night I was browsing the internet before going to bed, and decided to see if there were any churches for sale in San Francisco that I could renovate. I have recently developed a bit of a love affair with San Fran; it’s a big city teeming with liberals, full of interesting shops and art and every kind of restaurant you could think of, surrounded by beautiful bridges and ocean views, and basically I’ve decided it’s everything that my small southern town isn’t. Of course, I’ve never been there, so I could be wrong, but in my mind it’s a truly magical place. So imagine my excitement when I found this. The former Golden Gate Lutheran Church in San Francisco’s Mission District overlooking Dolores Park, was converted into a mind-blowing home and put on the market for $7.5 million back in 2009. I can’t find any recent information about if it sold or not, but best I can tell it was taken off the market, unsold, sometime in 2011. Zillow currently has it valued at around $6.4 million.

Have I mentioned that I also love loft spaces, and spiral stair cases? This home has managed to incorporate the perfect location, a beautiful old church, vaulted ceilings in some places, industrial loft feeling spaces in others places, huge closets, spiral staircases, large windows with views of the city, etc etc etc. It has stolen my heart!

Alas, a residence of this magnitude and price are far out of my reach. So, I started looking for more reasonably priced churches to convert and I found this website listing hundreds of churches for sale all across the country. It would seem that a lot of churches are falling into disuse (which I think is an interesting topic for another day). Maybe I’m a little strange for getting so excited about old churches, but my world has been opened to seemingly endless possibilities!

Like the former St. Pius X church in Cincinnati, OH. 30,234 square feet for sale for only $295,000. You’d be hard pressed to find that kind of floor space for less than $10/sq foot anywhere else.

Here’s the former Greater Church of Philadelphia. 20,000 sq feet, $250,000. Listed as being in poor condition, so it would probably require a lot of renovation. But isn’t that a stunning façade?

And doesn’t St. Bridget’s, a former Roman Catholic church, look so cozy and inviting? 5,000 sq feet for $70,000! For that price, I could actually afford this place some day! It’s in a town I’ve never heard of called Throop, PA which a quick check of the map tells me is outside Scranton.

I think I’m on to something here. Looks like one can get a killer deal on an old church, and I relish the idea of taking the space and making it my own. Someday….

 

 

About Essential Everyday Pineapple

Crazy cat lady extraordinaire, liberal, atheist, feminist, vegetarian, engineering student with an art degree. Essential Everyday Pineapple is just a phrase from a random word generator that had a nice ring to it. What? Blog names are tough.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Home Sweet Church

  1. Pingback: I Haz a Bukkit-List | Essential Everyday Pineapple

Leave a Reply

