It’s Time For A New Tat

Today feels like a good day for a frivolous post. There’s a lot of crap going on in the world (I’m looking at you, North Carolina) that I just don’t feel like dwelling on for the moment.

So instead, I invite you to participate in my super-unimportant-non-scientific opinion poll!

Almost 3 years ago, I got my first tattoo. It’s Latin, and literally means “life is short, art is long” but I prefer to be a little more poetic in my translation and say “life is short, but art is forever.” That picture was taken the day I got the tattoo, and somehow manages to make me look like an amorphous blob- I think I was twisted at a weird angle trying to get a good pic with my crappy little camera phone. To clarify things a little, it’s on my right rib cage.

Here recently, I have been bitten by the “I want another tattoo!” bug and I’ve decided I would like to add to the one I already have. That’s where you come in! I have a couple ideas for what I would like to do, and would like your input.

Idea #1: Adding a decorative frame around the words. Something like this, please ignore the watermark…I totally yanked this image from Google just to give you an idea what I have in mind.

Idea #2: I found these when browsing Pinterest, and think I would like something like this. Not exactly the same, of course, because screw people who copy tattoos instead of coming up with something original. But, to give you an idea, I’d like to add a scroll and some realistic looking roses.

What I’m worried about with idea #2 is that it would end up really big since the words I already have are on the big side, but I’m currently leaning toward this idea anyway. Go big or go home, right?

Okay. That’s what I’ve got. Whatcha think?

About Essential Everyday Pineapple

Crazy cat lady extraordinaire, liberal, atheist, feminist, vegetarian, engineering student with an art degree. Essential Everyday Pineapple is just a phrase from a random word generator that had a nice ring to it. What? Blog names are tough.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Time For A New Tat

  1. What about something like a paintbrush or something artsy that you relate to?

  2. David Barré says:

    Shouldn’t there be a couple “est’s” in your tattoo? I know I’m being a Latin Grammar Nazi here, but still. Ahem. Anyway, I’d favor a more minimalist design, personally. I feel like the scroll you posted (or something in that vein) would consume a large amount of skin real estate without adding much to the sentiment of the original piece. If it were me, I’d go with something that, while being more subtle, would accentuate the design of the original. I know that was all very vague and generally unhelpful, but hopefully some of it made sense.

  3. Amelia says:

    I think a scroll would be appropriate, if you were wanting to add some of the idea behind the inspiration to it (because it was on a scroll below the crest) but it could get pretty big (though, that doesn’t really bother me). If you wanted to do something not as big, but still add to the idea, you could use the frame, and have roses be part of the top/bottom part of the frame. I am definitely interested to hear what you decide to do!

    Miss you, PUAINWLBT! 🙂

  4. Janet Barrow says:

    I like the idea of adding lots of well saturated color. The rose is beautiful and if scaled to match what you have you could add several around the scroll. Maybe the scroll could have some color other than black, with cool shading. So not only go big, but go colorful or go home! WooHoo!

Leave a Reply

