Genesis 19-21

I skipped my reading yesterday to watch the Evil Dead movies instead; I think my priorities are in the right place. And, based on my blog stats that show that nobody is reading what I’ve been writing, I guess you fine folks all have better priorities as well. Good for you.

But, in theory at least, I’m doing this for me, not you. So I shall carry on.

Chapter 19-Two angels go to Sodom, Lot invites them to stay with him. The townsfolk demand to have sex with the angels, Lot offers the mob his daughters instead. God decides to destroy Sodom, tells Lot and family to flee without looking back. Wife looks back and becomes salt. Lot’s daughters want to give her father a male heir, so they get him drunk, sleep with him and get pregnant.

Remember in chapter 18 when I was confused if the three men who visited Abraham were just men, or if they were God? Well, the very first verse of Chapter 19 is now referring to them as two angels. So confused. The bible needs to fire its editor.

In the ongoing debate over gay marriage, I’ve heard some people claim that the sin of Sodom was rampant homosexuality- the mob of men did want to rape the male angels, after all. I’ve heard other, more gay friendly types say that the sin of Sodom was bad hospitality- raping guests is bad hospitality no matter what gender the victim is, mmkay? But, you know what really concerns me here? In trying to protect the angels, Lot offers to let the mobs have his 2 virginal daughters instead. The only righteous man in the city was totally okay with throwing his daughters to the mob. We see just how much respect the bible has for women and their autonomy here.

On a side note- would the desire to rape angels really be a homosexual thing? That’s more like an inter-species thing. Maybe the sin of Sodom was too much sex with aliens. 

Whatever their sin, Sodom and Gomorrah both get rained on with fire and brimstone, but God allows Lot, his wife, and 2 virginal daughters to leave on the condition that they don’t look back. Of course, if you’re at all familiar with the bible, you know Lot’s wife looks back and gets turned in to a pillar of salt.

I feel for her. The bible mentions that Lot’s son-in-laws think he’s crazy and refuse to leave the city with him, so Lot and wifey have daughters that are dying in the fire storm. They probably had friends, livestock, property, etc there as well. I know I would have a hard time leaving my whole life behind on a moment’s notice. Lot’s wife’s sin here was just being human. God turned her to salt for having emotions for her home town. Disproportionate punishment, again.

Image

Today I learned that some people think this rock formation in Jordan is actually Lot’s wife.

After fleeing the city, Lot’s daughters get him drunk and have sex with him so as to get pregnant and give him male heirs. You know, at this point I’m not so concerned with the incest in the bible. But, they had to get him drunk first so he wouldn’t know what was happening. Lot’s daughter’s raped him!

For those keeping tally:
Angel rape= sin.
Offering your daughters to the mob= not a sin.
Looking back as your home burns= sin.
Incestuously raping your father= not a sin.

The more I read the bible, the more thoroughly I am convinced that it is not a good source of morals.

Chapter 20- Back to Abraham and Sarah. They’re on the road again, and again Abraham has Sarah tell the king of the area that she’s his sister. Again, it works out fantastically well for Abraham.

For a second time, Abraham pulls the pimp-my-wife trick. This time, it’s King Abimelech who takes her home and gets punished by God for doing so. Abimelech says to Abraham, “What have you done to us? How have I offended you, that you have brought on me and on my kingdom a great sin? You have done deeds to me that ought not to be done.” Even a gentile king can see what an ass Abraham is. Abraham’s defense is again that he thought he would be killed. Oh, and also, she really is his half sister. So it was just a lie of omission more than an outright lie.

So Abimelech gives him sheep, oxen, male and female servants, as well as a thousand pieces of silver. In return, Abraham prays for God to heal whatever afflictions (one of which was infertility of all the women) he had placed on Abimelech for unknowingly taking a married woman. Are you a married man who pimps out your half sister wife? God’s got your back!

I love what Abimelech says to Sarah: “Behold, I have given your brother a thousand pieces of silver; indeed this vindicates you before all who are with you and before everybody.”

Image

This woman is yours now. I’ve paid my whore. I owe you nothing and you are nothing to me.

Chapter 21- Sarah finally gives birth to a son named Isaac. She then starts resenting Hagar and Ishmael again, and asks Abraham to throw them out. Abraham feels bad about Sarah’s request, but God tells him to do what Sarah wants. Hagar thinks she and Ishmael are going to die in the desert, but God shows them a well and they survive. Abraham makes a deal with Abimelech about another well.

I don’t have a whole lot to say about this. Again, I feel bad for Hagar. She was forced to bear Abraham a son, then tossed aside when Sarah got jealous. And God is totally cool with it all. He throws Hagar a bone in the form of not dying of dehydration in the desert, but overall Abraham and God have really shafted her.

 

 

About Essential Everyday Pineapple

Crazy cat lady extraordinaire, liberal, atheist, feminist, vegetarian, engineering student with an art degree. Essential Everyday Pineapple is just a phrase from a random word generator that had a nice ring to it. What? Blog names are tough.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Genesis 19-21

  1. Anonymous says:

    Traditional marriage ftw! Incest is sometimes okay!

    Man, it’s increasingly obvious that Christians don’t get their morals from where they claim.

  2. Brandie says:

    I am reading, just slowly 🙂
    Oh and what class did you end up taking? I would say it just depends on your work load, if you can handle it, challenge yourself.

  3. Pingback: Judges 8-9 | Essential Everyday Pineapple

  4. Pingback: Judges 19-21 | Essential Everyday Pineapple

Leave a Reply

