The Fastest Way To Become An Atheist Is To Read The Bible?

There is a saying that “the fastest way to become an atheist is to read the Bible.” I would have to disagree that it’s the fastest way, because it’s a long, slow, boring read. 

But, I can say that the questions I had about the Bible started me on my journey to becoming and atheist, and this Bible reading adventure is having the effect of making me even happier to be one.

Image

I don’t feel bound by these bronze age myths asking me to accept that I am inferior for being a woman, or that I should fight against homosexual relationships. I don’t have to rationalize why some omniscient being used to be okay with slavery, but now isn’t.  I can make moral decisions based on how they effect real human beings, not based on what some old book says some deity wants. I don’t have to avoid asking questions for fear of angering my religious leaders. I can accept scientific findings based on evidence without worrying about how they contradict the “facts” written down by ancient people who didn’t understand science. I don’t live in fear of hell.

Image People sometimes ask how atheists can be happy without God. That seems like such a silly question to me. I am happier now that I am free from religion, and reading the Bible is reminding me why.

 

About Essential Everyday Pineapple

Crazy cat lady extraordinaire, liberal, atheist, feminist, vegetarian, engineering student with an art degree. Essential Everyday Pineapple is just a phrase from a random word generator that had a nice ring to it. What? Blog names are tough.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Fastest Way To Become An Atheist Is To Read The Bible?

  1. georgianna13 says:

    so well put! Welldone!

Leave a Reply

