Numbers 16-17

I sat down about 2.5 hours ago to do this blog post, but then I got distracted by OkCupid. I’ve never registered for an online dating site before, and was curious what the hullabaloo was about, you know, for science. Supposedly you can use it to meet new friends, yeah?

(For those of you thinking, “Don’t you have a boyfriend?” Yes, I do. He knows I’m on there, and has an account as well. We’re a 92% match!)

I’ve been registered for all of 3 hours, and have already gotten 2 creepy messages. Does anyone ever have luck picking up women with the opening line “Hey sexy. You come here often?”? I didn’t think so. This may have been a bad idea.

Anyway, that’s not why you’re here, is it? Let’s get down to business.

Chapter 16- Some of the Israelites are unhappy because they think Moses and Aaron have taken too much power. This makes Moses angry, so he challenges the men to bring censers to the tabernacle, and God will show which are his chosen leaders. God causes the ground to open beneath the dissenters/fire to spew forth, and 250 dissenters are killed. A large portion of the Israelites are upset angry about this slaughter, and complain to Moses. God sends a plague, and 14,700 more dissenters die.

This is the first story that has been a total surprise to me. Most of the stuff in the Bible thus far has been at least familiar, even if I didn’t remember the details. This gem, though, is news to me.

We get a good strong taste here of how God deals with dissenters. Don’t like his plans? Do you have the audacity to question his authority? DIE IN A FIERY PIT!

Image

God = this police officer

I have to give major props to the Israelites who stood up to Moses/God. Verse 41, “On the next day all the congregation of the children of Israel complained against Moses and Aaron, saying, ‘You have killed the people of the Lord.'” I annotated in the margins, “Rightfully so!”

These people may have played along when God asked them to stone a Sabbath breaker, but I’m glad they finally sprouted some morals and spoke out against the murder of 250 men. It didn’t do them much good, seeing as they died as well…but I think they died doing the right thing.

Chapter 17- To settle dissent once and for all, God has the leader of each tribe bring a rod (walking stick?) to the tabernacle, where he will make the rod of his chosen leader sprout with flowers and almonds. Aaron’s rod is the only one that blossoms.

ImageSeriously you guys. How have I never heard this story? I went to church 3 times a week for 18 years, and my church didn’t shy away from the weird/gruesome stories.

I have to say, finding something “new” in the Bible hasn’t raised my opinion of it one little bit.

About Essential Everyday Pineapple

Crazy cat lady extraordinaire, liberal, atheist, feminist, vegetarian, engineering student with an art degree. Essential Everyday Pineapple is just a phrase from a random word generator that had a nice ring to it. What? Blog names are tough.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Numbers 16-17

  1. Pingback: Numbers 18-20 | Essential Everyday Pineapple

Leave a Reply

