Deuteronomy 3-4

Chapter 3- More recounting of the battles they had with the native people.

Again, this is all stuff we’ve already talked about back in Numbers. The Bible makes for a repetitive, boring read at time, and I suspect that means it also makes for boring blog posts. Sorry folks. Hopefully something new will happen soon!

One thing that did stand out to me here is that Moses blames the people for the fact that he doesn’t get to enter the promised land. Moses asks God for permission to enter the land, “but the Lord was angry with me on your account, and would not listen to me.” (verse 26)  He’s actually been banned from Canaan for striking a rock after God told him to speak to it, (Numbers chapter 20) which is a ridiculous story in its own right, but now he’s trying to place the blame elsewhere. For shame, Moses.

Chapter 4- Moses advises the people to keep the laws God has given them. Warnings not to worship idols/the sun/moon, or God will destroy the people. A reminder that the Israelites are God’s special chosen people.

Moses again tells the people it’s their fault he can’t do to the promised land. I suppose he’s working under the assumption that a lie told frequently enough becomes truth.

Verse 2, “You shall not add to the word which I command you, nor take from it, that you may keep the commandments of the Lord your God which I command you.” I’m pretty sure this means that those people who say we no longer have to stick to the Old Testament because Jesus brought a new law are wrong. And the Kabbalah, Book of Mormon, and any other religious text that tries to add to the Old Testament are wrong too. Sorry folks, your own holy book is telling you you’re wrong here.

In other news, I have tickets to see Avenue Q tonight! For those of you who live within reasonable driving distance of Little Rock, it’s showing at the Rep though the end of the month, and I highly recommend it. This will be my second time to see it, and I’m super excited!

aveQ

About Essential Everyday Pineapple

Crazy cat lady extraordinaire, liberal, atheist, feminist, vegetarian, engineering student with an art degree. Essential Everyday Pineapple is just a phrase from a random word generator that had a nice ring to it. What? Blog names are tough.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Deuteronomy 3-4

  1. I had forgotten why Moses was left out. Sore loser.

    I hope Ave. Q is a blast. I’ve always wanted to see it!

Leave a Reply

