Deuteronomy 32-34

We’re in the home stretch! These are the last 3 chapters in Deuteronomy.

I’m proud to announce that I have accomplished my goal of learning to spell Deuteronomy in 12 short days. *takes a bow* I think that’s about all I’ve gotten out of this book…

Chapter 32-The lyrics to the song we were promised in the previous chapter. It describes how God will destroy the people for following foreign gods. Then God tells Moses to go up on Mount Nebo to die.

This reminds me of trying to read the songs in The Hobbit. I get so distracted trying to set the words to music in my head, since I know it’s supposed to be a song, that I don’t absorb the meaning of the song. This one wasn’t too hard, since it’s the same threats of destruction we’ve been getting for several chapters now, but I still found myself trying to set the words to a melody. “They sacrificed to demons, they worshiped idols, that’s what Yahweh Baggins hates!”

Also, I’m pretty sure I scoffed out loud when I read verse 4 “For all His ways are justice, A God of truth and without injustice.” Ha! I beg to differ. God is the master of overblown punishments for minor crimes. (For example: stoning someone for picking up sticks on the Sabbath.)

Chapter 33- Moses blesses the people.

Each tribe gets its own blessing, and it’s obvious that Moses had favorites. Ruben gets 2 lines; Levi gets 21. Poor ol’ Issachar doesn’t even get his own blessing, but is just a side note withing the blessing of Zebulun. At least they’re all positive blessings, and not backhanded blessings like Jacob gave some of his sons before his death.

Chapter 34- Moses goes up on the mountain, gets the see the promised land, then dies. The people mourn for 30 days. Joshua assumes command.

Verse 6, “And He buried him…” Interesting that God Himself buried Moses. I can’t think of anybody else in the Bible (not so far, anyway) who has had such an honor.

Verse 10, “But since then there has not arisen in Israel a prophet like Moses, whom the Lord knew face to face.” Um…Jesus? Wasn’t he a prophet from Israel who knew God intimately, what with his actually being God and all?

Combined with Deut 18:22, I’m beginning to suspect that the Bible is calling Jesus a false prophet.

On that not-at-all-controversial note, we’re done with Deuteronomy! It’s a beautiful day outside, so I think I’m going to go enjoy some sunshine!

About Essential Everyday Pineapple

Crazy cat lady extraordinaire, liberal, atheist, feminist, vegetarian, engineering student with an art degree. Essential Everyday Pineapple is just a phrase from a random word generator that had a nice ring to it. What? Blog names are tough.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deuteronomy 32-34

  1. In Deuteronomy 18:15 Moses says that there will be another prophet like him, which would imply the same intimate relationship. The verse in Chapter 34 could be referring to the method in which Moses communicated. Jesus didn’t communicate in the same way. He didn’t have to go to a tent to talk to God since he was God.

    Then again, it could be just another biblical error…

  2. Holly says:

    I thought I was the only one who kept trying to set the “songs” to music in their head. Psalms is the worst, as I can’t stop my brain trying to chug out a tune to the words. Glad to know I’m not the only one!

Leave a Reply

