A Brief Hiatus

I am really burnt out on this Bible reading and blogging project. For the last 2 weeks or so, it has been an absolute struggle to force myself to sit down and do my daily post. One of the perks of being an atheist is supposed to be not having to slog through boring, outdated, misogynistic, murderous old holy books .

Before I started this project, I google’d to see if it had been done before, and it turns out that the internet is littered with the remains of dead atheist bible reading blogs. That should have been a sign, I guess. I really don’t want to be just another failed attempt at this, but I need a break.

So, since yesterday was the last day of 1st Samuel, I think this is a good time to take a little break. I’m hoping that a mini vay-cay from the Bible will give me the renewed focus I need to pick back up and carry on. Hopefully a short break will prevent complete and utter give-up-ing in the near future.

Here’s an outline of how I want this to go: I’m going to take off tonight, tomorrow and Wednesday. I have a test tomorrow that I’ll be studying for tonight, then plans with real people I like a whole lot more than the Bible on the other 2 nights. Then I want to jump back in to this with the book of 2nd Samuel on Thursday.

If  you think this blog project is worth continuing, please let me know. (I’m not doing it if nobody’s reading it. Ain’t nobody got time for that.) The peer pressure of knowing I’m slacking on something that people like will hopefully be enough to bring me back.

Also, I think I need to focus on including more posts that aren’t Bible related. I read back through some of my old posts from pre-Bible blogging times, and I was actually well written and (I think) interesting. I don’t feel that way any more. So, I’m also soliciting suggestions on what else you fine folks would like to read about.

Until then, dear readers, have a great couple of days! I’ll see you in a few!

Image

About Essential Everyday Pineapple

Crazy cat lady extraordinaire, liberal, atheist, feminist, vegetarian, engineering student with an art degree. Essential Everyday Pineapple is just a phrase from a random word generator that had a nice ring to it. What? Blog names are tough.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Brief Hiatus

  1. Dustin says:

    I don’t blame you at all. While it’s super interesting to get your take on the bible, I totally get it. Not only is it boring to read, but pointing out the flaws and debunking the arguments is absolute child’s play. It gets boring and repetitive.

  2. Christopher says:

    I enjoy reading this blog. That being said, I understand your trouble. I sat through religions classes hearing what a “beautiful and poetic and well written” book the bible is and the whole time I was sitting there knowing how full of shit the people saying that way. I took a Bible as Literature class and that just made it worse. This is a very boring, disjointed book, a few parts are interesting, the rest is boring and badly written.

  3. zoe says:

    I understand your need for a break. That being said I love your take on it. It is refreshing and you go at some angles I have not heard before. Must be mentally exausting though.

Leave a comment